Prior to Independence the Indian Convention States, also known as the British India States or the British Provinces, were princely states in India that were under direct British rule. These states were administered by British officers and were governed according to British laws and regulations. India's Feudatory States, also known as Native States or Princely States, were independent states in India that were ruled by Indian princes or Maharajas. These states had their own local governments and were free to conduct their internal affairs as long as they remained loyal to the British Crown.  After India gained independence in 1947, the Indian Convention States were integrated into the Indian Union as states, while the Feudatory States were given the option to accede to either India or Pakistan.

per page